It has begun!

Image

I’m going to college to become an elementary educator. This year I am a sophomore which means I have finally begun classes for my major. At my school we are required to have 35 field hours in an elementary school that we are placed in during this semester.

I am beyond ecstatic to say that I have had the chance to get out in the field. I’ve been to my school twice now. I was terrified when I first entered the brick building. I was afraid my cooperating teacher would dislike me and, even worse, that the kids would not enjoy me being there.

I met with my teacher and discussed what I am looking to get out of this experience. She seemed frazzled already due to changes in her curriculum and it being the beginning of the school year. One thing I was not pleased with was that she didn’t introduce me to her third grade class before beginning. In fact, many of the children still do not know who I am, what my name is, or why I am there. Fortunately, I had the courage to join in on their rotation activity to introduce myself and to begin interacting with them.

I loved it! The children that I was able to talk with were so friendly and eager to have me participate with them. They relished in telling me details about their lives and to read their lovely little chapter books to me. I am falling in love with the profession all over again.

I have many moments of doubt. There is so much riding on these next few years. I worry whether I will be able to be an outstanding teacher. I want to help my children learn, I want to encourage them to find solace in learning. I want to change their lives, influence them positively, and make sure that they are happy in and after they leave my classroom. There are so many expectations and loads of pressure on elementary teachers. I hope with all of my heart that I will be successful and affect some sort of change in the education system.

I have so much more to learn, and so many obstacles to overcome. However, right now, I will focus on enjoying my time with the kids and absorbing all of the information and skills that I can.

Leave a Reply

