Back Home (Meaning School)

Image

I’m finally back at college! Yesterday I arrived and got my room all set up and personalized again. I broke only two poster frames in the process…oops. But, all is well. My roommate should be coming back today and I got to reconnect with so many amazing people that I missed over the summer.

For Welcome Week our school does a ton of awesome activities so you can meet people and have fun. Last night I played Bingo with a few friends from 10:00 P.M. to 2:00 A.M. It was exhausting, yet entertaining. It’s the second year in a row where I didn’t win anything, but I did get bacon, so it all works out.

Today they had the annual activities fair so students can learn about all the clubs and groups on campus. I’ve been wanting to sign up for the Farm Club since I discovered it existed last year. Unfortunately, being a freshman I was too nervous to do anything about it. Here are my reasons for wanting to sign up for this amazing club:

1. I love the environment and want to everything I can to help it thrive.

2. I would feel like I accomplished something useful (food is donated to charities)

3. There are gorgeous hippie guys who run the club who wear flannel and sport ponytails and beards.

4. It would get me outside more often.

5. I could be around plants all the time!

Today, as I walked down the long aisle of booths and posters–that took up our entire main street–I spotted the Farm Club station. I panicked immediately, checked out who was manning the table, and casually walked by. I did some serious inner pep talk and convinced myself that all I need to do is sign the paper. After perusing the other tables, I came back very slowly to the Farm Club table. I intently looked at their poster hoping the adorable guy running the table would start the conversation. Luckily, I think he got the message and said hi to me. Inside I was freaking out, but on the outside I acted cool as could be. I asked him what his club does. He explained all the details and I told him with confidence: “I would definitely like to sign up for this!” I found the sheet and noticed I would be the first to sign up. He handed me a pen and kept telling me more factoids about the club. He said that the club is relatively new and they’re getting new members, so it should be growing. I laughed and said, “Ah, nice. Get it? Farm club…growing.” He chuckled a little. And, I couldn’t tell if he thought I was crazy or if he actually found me a little charming. I gave him a coy smile and apologized for my terrible joke. He smiled, looked at me and said, “It’s alright. And, yes, I feel we’re just about to bloom.” And if we had been texting rather than conversing in person, that sentence would definitely have been ended with a winking face.

Long story short, I’m proud that I was able to finally sign up for it even though I was terrified. And, I don’t think I totally embarrassed myself in front of one of the members. All is well.

Here’s to a great sophomore year!

(Also I wanted to include that my posts will be much less frequent once classes begins because, well, I need to maintain that 4.0 GPA. I will try to make time for my writing though.)

Leave a Reply

