Snack Attack

You know those days when you get hungry around 3:30 for no obvious reason? I do. Today was definitely one of those days. So, I decided that instead of snacking on processed junk food I would make an easy little meal for one.

I love basil! It is my favorite herb to use in cooking. The recipe I made is a simple pasta dish using basil pesto as a sauce.

What You’ll Need:

  • Basil pesto (I make my own and use about 2 Tablespoons)
  • Farfalle pasta (a.k.a. bow tie pasta)
  • Parmesan cheese
  • A kitchen in which to cook it!

If you don’t already have pesto you will need to whip some up. I used the following recipe from The Food Network and it made more than enough:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/basil-pesto-recipe2/index.html

Next you will need to boil some Farfalle pasta according to the package directions. I made an entire package, but you can cut this down to the desired number of servings.

Image

Some lovely boiling pasta.

Image

After the pasta has finished cooking, strain it. Add the desired pasta back to the pan in which you cooked it. Add a few tablespoons (or more if you wish) of pesto and stir.

Image

This is what it should look like after the pesto is mixed in.

Then place in a bowl, add a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese, grab a fork, and dig in!

Image

End result. Doesn’t it look delicious?

I also like to spice this recipe up by adding fresh cherry tomatoes (cut in half) with the pesto. When you warm them up for a short time they taste absolutely divine in this recipe.

Cheers!

One comment

  1. craving cheese · August 9, 2013

    Saved as a favorite, I like your blog!

Leave a Reply

