Folk Music Exploration

Recently I’ve been listening to wide selection of folk music both pure and mixed with a rock flare. After falling in love with artists (shown in order below) such as The Decemberists, Mumford & Sons, Iron & Wine, and Johnny Flynn (to name just a few), I decided to trace this genre to the beginning. What I discovered can only be described as serendipitous.

ImageImage

ImageImage

I started a while ago with Simon and Garfunkel because I already loved their music. I had no idea that they helped to forge the folk music genre. Their lyrics are deep, free-flowing, and catch your attention. I definitely recommend checking them out if you’ve never heard them before.

Image

About three days I ago I decided to look into the man that is often credited with starting the Folk revival in the United States: Bob Dylan. I did an internet search to listen to his music and was quite surprised with what I found. I knew he was well-known for his succulent verses and brilliant lyricism, but I had no idea how his music would make me feel. I had been having a terrible week. Everything was sinking at once. When I listened to Dylan I felt like he understood. His voice enveloped me with it’s warm, roughness and assured me that everything would be okay. It always is. Yes, he agreed with me, “Times they are a-changin'”. But, he told me to fear not. He has felt what I am feeling. Others have been in my shoes. There is no need to let it get to you. “Chin up” he told me with a smile. 

His music was a breath of fresh air (even though it’s decades old). I cried listening to “Mr. Tambourine Man” and I can’t explain why. It wasn’t something tangible. It was his essence. The desperation is his voice, the purity in his instruments. They stirred my soul.

Interestingly enough, there is a modern artist that sounds astoundingly similar to Mr. Dylan. He goes by the name The Tallest Man on Earth. As soon as he opens his mouth you can tell that Bob Dylan is his biggest influence. Below are images of the similar artists (Dylan on the left, and The Tallest Man on Earth on the right):

ImageImage

I highly recommend going out there right now and discovering all of the aforementioned artists. They will probably change your opinion about music.

“The answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind” –Bob Dylan

Leave a Reply

