Hooping Sin: Using children’s hula hoops

Hey there!

This post is a sort of “side-note” for all of you chasing that dream known as hoop dance. I’d like to address the question that many people have when they are just beginning or are discovering what exactly hooping is. That question is: “Can I use a child’s hula hoop?” The collective answer is no.

There are many reasons why buying a plastic child’s hoop filled with water, air, or even sand is simply unacceptable for hoop dance. Firstly, children’s hoops are just what their name suggest; for children! This means that they are smaller in diameter, lighter in weight, and often are filled with substances such as water. All of these factors make it very difficult to use for hooping because they quicken the rotation and throw off the balance of the device overall. So, please take my advice and do not purchase a plastic dollar store hoop if you are serious about hooping.

Now, if you are not sure if you want to dive head-first into the dance itself then by all means go ahead and use one of these silly hoops to practice off-body tricks or just mess around in general. But, be warned that these will not help you to become a skilled hoop dancer for the most part because they are simply not built for the job.

I showed my grandmother my moves the other day and attempted to explain the dance to her. She took one look at the hoops and asked, “Aren’t those hoops a little over-sized?” I had to chuckle to myself because it is the expected response from anyone unacquainted with the tools of the trade. Yes, my hoops may seem large to you, but they are what I use to transcend my routine universe. You wouldn’t want to travel through space in a tiny teacup would you?

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

